Newman's Own Organics – Win Some Yummys For Your Tummy!

I am sure you are all familiar with Paul Newman’s Popcorn and Salad Dressing, but there is a whole other part to the company, Newman’s Own Organics!

Per the website history: Newman’s Own Organics was founded in 1993 by Paul Newman’s daughter, Nell Newman, as a division of Newman’s Own. It became a separate company in late 2000. Their motto is “Great Tasting Products That Happen to Be Organic.” Their products include organic pretzels, cookies, popcorn, chocolate bars, peppermint cups, peanut butter cups, olive oil and vinegar, dried fruit, fair trade coffee and pet food.


This is a great company with such a variety of goodies to try, that when I got my box of food to review I was overwhelmed with the amount of stuff in the box and of the generosity of the company.  I have to admit I sat and stared at it and did not know where to start with it all.  From the cookies to the chocolate to the pretzels, and rice cakes and so much more. I have a lot to share with you. And I am going to pick my favorite 3 items for the winner and then Newman’s own will pick a 4th item to surprise you! This is a lot of fun.  I had actually won as a giveaway when I just started my site and their awesome associate Sally noticed in my signature and asked me to do a review.   Sally has also been very very patient with me as I have had this stuff for a long time. She just said to take my time and enjoy everything.

Lets start with the Signature Series Chocolate! Yes I received 6 large chocolate bars. I will try to share my favorite but I have to tell you my husband would get up at night and devour a bar before I would get a taste, and I would yell at him, but he still continued to sneak them. Oh I was angry at him and wanted to tie him into the bed so I could do my review LOL!  I was given the following flavors to try;

 

  • Dark Chocolate
  • Super Dark Chocolate 70% Cocoa – NEW!
  • Mocha Milk Chocolate – NEW!
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Espresso Dark Chocolate
  • Orange Dark Chocolate

 



I have to say I am torn between the Mocha Milk Chocolate and the Orange Dark Chocolate.  They were all smooth tasting and melted in my mouth and just a little goes a long way, unless you are my husband!  I think I 
would have to say the Orange Dark Chocolate was my favorite candy bar.
I see on the website that they now also have chocolate cups filled with yummy’s like caramel and PB! 

The next items I had were the Pretzels, and these were the first products made by the company because Paul Newman’s favorite snack were pretzels! I got the Rods, the sticks, and the N’s I call them.  I must first admit that I am not a real pretzel fan but my daughter is and she loved the Rods. She said they had a good hearty flavor for a pretzel.  I liked the sticks the best with just a little taste at a time. I do like crunching up on the stick like a chipmunk snacking on celery!







And now for one of my favorites, the Chip Cookies. Now were talking! I am a cookie monster and I couldn’t wait to dig into there. I was sent 3 flavors of these and believe me, I enjoyed every bite of all 3 flavors!  I was sent Double Chocolate Mint Chip, Chocolate Chocolate Chip, and Chocolate Chip. Now I have to tell you that I would not decline a chance to have any of these tasty morsels.  They are all so decadent, but having to pick, my favorite is the Chocolate Chocolate Chip, but I am a chocolate lover! These just melt in your mouth and don’t forget a nice ice cold glass of milk with your cookies.

Next is the Newman’s Own Alphabet cookies.  I received 2 flavors of these in my package. I received a Cinnamon Graham and an Arrowroot cookie.  Of the two, I think I preferred the Arrowroot as they remind me of the hard cookies I used to give my babies to teeth on. I missed that flavor and it brought back so many memories! So although the Cinnamon Graham were tasty the memory won out for me!

The next goody in a box of plenty was these wonderful Newman’s Own Dried Fruits.  Fruits, even dried are so good for you. I just love dried fruit, to either snack on or add to a salad. There is nothing better than dried cranberries or raisins in my salad. I also love to add nuts like almonds and walnuts, or sunflower seeds to the salad. Now I am hungry for a nice salad!
I tasted all three of the flavors shown above and it is a really hard pick. I think I enjoyed the sweet tart taste of the berry blend I received as my prize earlier the best but of these 3 I would pick the Apricots to snack on as I used to sit on my grandmother’s lap and eat dried apricots with her and just loved the time with her!
I was sent one bag of Soy Crisps in my box of goodies and they sent the lightly salted. I opened it and they so resemble rice patties that we are all used to. I used to take Rice Patties and add peanut butter for a lunch or breakfast and was thinking these would be good as well with my Coconot Peanut Butter, Yum!
I opened the bag and was kinda afraid to try one.  I took one out of the bag and took a small bite and it was OK so I took a larger bite to get more of the flavor. Once I had a mouthful and was chewing it, it had kind of a nutty flavor and I really liked it. Liked it more than I thought I would.  I am impressed with Newman’s Organics if they can make soy crisps and I like them!
I also received 2 kinds of Hermits. I got the Original and the Cinnamon I think.  I say I think because I took one bite of each and personally, I did not care for these cookies at all. They just weren’t my style,  but that was OK because dear husband grew up eating these and gobbled then down in just a few days. He loved them! They reminded him of years ago! So hubby gives them 4 thumbs up to my 2 thumbs up!


Next lets talk about the absolutely awesome mints in pocket sized tins good for a purse or a jeans pocket for the guys, or even tucked in my bra, a handy carrying place Shhhhhhh.  Not only are these the perfect size, they are great when empty for things like buttons or sewing needles.
The first one opened was the Wintergreen and had a nice strong wintergreen flavor.  I have never ever been a fan of Wintergreen but for me these were OK. Not great but OK. On the other hand, my daughter loves them and nabbed them for her purse.
The next tin was ginger and I enjoyed these.  I have a history of stomach upset from my meds and medical history and a little bit of ginger is good for me when I feel this way. I have this stashed in my purse so hubby doesn’t eat them like candy. Poor guy just can’t help himself. 
Next came the Peppermints that were great for peppermints and that is my favorite kind of mint. I use them when I am getting a sore throat or need to freshen up the ole breath in a hurry.  Now that I have quit smoking that is not a big issue any more!
And then my favs, the HOT mints.Wowsa, open up and put your mouth on fire! Love cinnamon hot taste. There is nothing better if you want to eat something Hot! Actually for me these are not that hot but they have a little bite but also a little bit of buttery taste to me.  And they are not the pink color most cinnamon candies are so when you open the tin it is a bit surprising to see these golden colored morsels! I just love letting these sit on my tongue and melt away. Ummmm. Nice.


I was very surprised to see that Newman’s Own also has their own licorice!  In this line of candy there are 4 flavors that I was given to sample!  There was traditional Black Licorice, Strawberry Licorice, Tangerine Licorice, and Pomegranate Licorice.  I am a big fan of licorice and I either like the flavor or I don’t, plain and simple  with Licorice!  
First there was the Black Licorice.  It had a strong Anise flavor and was quite good.  I enjoyed the flavor greatly.  I used to share black licorice with my Grandmother so it brought back memories of me finding where she hid it in the house to find.  If it wasn’t twists of black licorice, it was a box of Good ‘n Plenty 🙂  These are nice memories and made me smile.
Next was the Strawberry Licorice and it was quite nice.  It had a taste of strawberry, not too strong and it was good. I would eat it but I would not go out and buy it.
Then comes the Tangerine Licorice.  To be polite I will just say I didn’t care for the Tangerine flavor of the licorice at all. I would not buy it at all.
And last, but nut least, was the Pomegranate Licorice!  Home Run!  This was awesome. I just loved it.  I would of never thought I would be saying this, but the Pomegranate was really really good and I can’t wait to find it somewhere locally to buy so I can get some more of this licorice.  It is the absolute BEST licorice I have ever eaten. Pomegranate gets 2 thumbs up by me and a little dance as well. YUMMMMMMMM!
I ❤ the Pomegranate!


And last in my box, but not least, was the Newman-O’s cookies.  There is a wide variety of flavors and sizes of these tasty cookies, and I mean tasty. This was written on the web site:

Ode to Newman-O’s
You might, m’lady tweak my nose.
You could, m’lord step on my toes.
But Heaven help those poor bozos, who try to filch my Newman-O’s.

LOL that is just so true. I can totally relate to this statement.  The Newman-O’s are so so good. Better than it’s competitor that I am sure you can figure out who that is!!!  I was sent 2 packages of flavorful cookies to try out.  First was the Chocolate Newman-O’s that have a cream filled chocolate filling.  Delish. These are truly a dangerous cookie so make sure you are armed when you eat these. Arm yourself with a big glass of milk to easily drink the evidence away should someone catch you devouring the bag of cookies, they are so so good. I am in love with these cookies.
I was also sent the mint filled Newman-O’s that taste a great deal like a thin mint Girl Scout Cookie.  They have a very similar flavor, and I enjoyed these but not as much as I liked the Chocolate Cream filled.

Newman’s Own Organic‘s has created a nice line of organic treats and goodies for us.  Paul Newman’s daughter Nell has done a fabulous job of using healthy ingredients and using only goods from countries that practice fair trade in their growing and exporting products to the U.S. There is so much to read in the
web site that I cannot begin to share it all with you now. I suggest that you read the website to learn all about this awesome line of goodies that we enjoy. Some people don’t care about any of this but I do and it is important to me, especially the fair trade areas used in their suppliers!  Paul Newman must surely be looking down from Heaven with a proud smile for Nell. I am sure of it!


Now for the fun part!  Newman’s Own will be sharing my 3 favorite items I received and 1 item of their choosing to one lucky winner here!  Enjoy this one gals. This has been one of my favorite Giveaways I have worked on all year. Thanks so much to Sally at Newman’s Own for all her help, support, and understanding, and also friendship! To know Sally is to love her!

OK, here are my 3 favorite items for you:
1) Newman-O’s with Chocolate Cream Filling
2) Double Chocolate Mint Chip Cookies
3) Pomegranate Licorice
4) Surprise

MANDATORY (1) ENTRY: Follow  blog on GFC. Without this your entries will be disqualified! Also remember to include your email address in all entries! 
MANDATORY: (1) ENTRY: Visit The Company website and tell us 2 things you learned from 2 separate areas of website. Believe me, I know this website after trying all these products!

THESE MANDATORY ENTRIES MUST BE DONE BEFORE THESE OTHER ENTRIES CAN BE DONE!


2 Entries – Like Newman’s Own on Facebook
1 Entries – What is your favorite recipe of Nell’s?
2 Entries – Follow me on Twitter
3 Entries – LIKE me on NEW FACEBOOK PAGE
2 Entries – Follow me on Networked Blogs found on my site
2 Entries – Place my button on your blog and leave link
3 Entries – Blog about this giveaway and leave link-must blog at least 100 words

1 Entry Day – Tweet the following and leave link for me :


Newman’s Own Organics #Win some goodies for yourself, http://tinyurl.com/5u3oasq Ends 7/5/11 US #giveaway#healthy #cookies #PaulNewman
Good Luck to all my friends!
Disclaimer: 
Joan Penfold personally reviewed this product. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my review,Newman’s Own provided me with a free sample of thier products to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product. . All opinions are mine and belong to me solely. My thoughts and opinions may differ from yours. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. The photo’s & Videos used in this review were provided by Newman’s Own.

Posted on June 18, 2011, in Food and Beverages, Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

