Pocket Disc – A Colorful Way to Have Fun, Inside and Out!

Summer is approaching and I have to tell you about this fun toy good for the whole family!  This is the Pocket Disc, a fun frisbee type device created totally on accident by a 3rd grader’s failed assignment to make a placemat. She did not make it properly and the lips curled under, and suddenly it became a toy, as it was discovered to fly nicely through the air, and that was the birth of the Pocket Disc!  What a neat story, that this was invented my such a young lady and Kudos to her!

Originally the young girl’s Mom made the Phd’s (abbrev. for the disc)
Now the Phd’s are now created in Guatemala by the Mayans, who have been weaving and making bright colored items for centuries.  The women that make these discs earn a fair wage and are treated well and their monies help send their children to schools and keep the families from poverty! I love and believe in companies that allow others to empower themselves and live a better life!

To quote a teacher I will share a small tidbit from the site:
“The toy has universal appeal and because of its inherent safety has been incorporated into the PE curriculum at a local elementary school. The physical education teacher who uses the Pocket Discs in his classes said, “I just can’t think of a way that these could hurt someone. I mean look at that keep away game we just played. If we had been using Frisbees®, there would have been 10 kids hurt before we were done.” A student listening nearby added, “When it hits me in the mouth, my lips don’t get caught up in my braces!”


Phd was kind enough to send me 2 discs to review as I requested a Red, White, and Blue one to send to my son in the Navy. He loves to through discs and can use this to practice his throwing for Disc Golf without damaging anything!  We have fun here playing inside trying to keep the Phd from the dog LOL!

She loves the disc!  Thank goodness she is out of the pup stage where she would tear it apart!  I am happy for that and it also gives me a little exercise!


Phd has lists of games online you can play with your Pocket Disc! Check out this video to see the many games and uses for your disc!  There are many fun games created, like pocket disc bowling where you can line up plastic cups and try to knock them over!  Great fun indoors for the kids on a rainy day!


I just love these discs and the fun I am having with it.  I stuff it in a pocket and go outside and when ready I have the disc in my pocket! How cool is that?


There are several editions of the Pocket Disc so make sure to check out the difference before ordering!
Per the Site:
” Sports Pocket Disc vs. The Classic Pocket Disc (like paper vs. plastic, this is impt!)

The Sports Pocket Discs are heavier, fly farther, are colorfast and are more geared towards outdoor play. While swirl, sunburst, and wagon wheel designs are available in Classic and Sports editions, Peace, Yin//Yang, and Happy Hannahs are only available in Sports Edition.
The Classic Pocket Discs are thinner, lighter, easier to catch and are great for indoor use. Though they are perfectly suitable for outside use, they are not guaranteed to be colorfast.”

I am excited to be able to give away one of these discs to a lucky follower. Get yours just in time for having the kids home for summer, so you don’t have to hear “I’m bored” all day! Instead, let them play!

MANDATORY (1) ENTRY: Follow my blog on GFC. Without this your entries will be disqualified! Also remember to include your email address in all entries! 
MANDATORY: (1) ENTRY: Visit The Phd Site & tell me your favorite item.

THESE MANDATORY ENTRIES MUST BE DONE BEFORE THESE OTHER ENTRIES CAN BE DONE!


2 Entries – Visit the website and tell me 2 things you learned besides what I have posted!
2 Entries – Follow Pocket Disc on Facebook
2 Entries – Follow Pocket Disc on Twitter
5 Entries – Make an order (Will be verified)
2 Entries – Follow me on Twitter
2 Entries – Follow me on Facebook 
2 Entries – Follow me on Networked Blogs found on my site
3 Entries – Place my button on your blog and leave link
5 Entries – Blog about this giveaway and leave link-must blog at least 100 words
1 Entry for each Giveaway you have entered on my blog
1 Entry Day – Tweet the following and leave link for me 
Pocket Disc, #Win a fun & safe disc to play inside and out! http://tinyurl.com/3byn49r Ends 6/25/11 #giveaway#frisbee #game #disc #handmade

Good Luck to all my friends!

Disclaimer: Joan Penfold personally reviewed these products. I did not receive any monitary compensation for my review, just a sample product. All opinions are mine and belong to me solely. My thoughts and opinions may differ from yours. The photo’s used in this review were provided by Pocket Disc &Joan Penfold

Posted on June 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

Leave a Reply

